What are the Different Classes of Active Indian Navy Submarine?


The “Submarine arm” is the most important part of any Navy. To fight sub-surface wars the most potent weapon is Submarine. Indian Navy Submarine arm is in its 51st year of existence. The First Indian Submarine INS Kalvari Inducted on 08 Dec 1967 under Cdr KS Subramanian. India has come a long way in the submarine arm. As of December 2017, Indian Navy’s sub-surface fleet consists of Conventional Attack Submarines, Nuclear-powered attack submarine, and Ballistic missile submarine. Here is the list of active submarines of Indian Navy.

List of Active Indian Navy Submarines

Arihant Class-

The Arihant class is a class of nuclear-powered ballistic missile submarine (SSBN) built for the Indian Navy. INS Arihant is the lead ship of India’s Arihant class submarines built at the Ship Building Centre in the port city of Visakhapatnam. The Submarine was commissioned in August 2016.

The submarines have a displacement of 6,000 tonnes, a maximum diving depth of 350 meters (Estimated), top speed of 24 knots, and the range is unlimited except by food supplies.

[table id=25 /]

Kalvari Class-

The Kalvari class is a class of diesel-electric attack submarines based on the Scorpène-class submarine being built for the Indian Navy. INS Kalvari is the first of the six Scorpene-class submarines built under Project 75. The Submarine was commissioned on 14 December 2017.

[table id=21 /]

Chakra Class-

INS Chakra is an 8,140-tonne Akula class, nuclear-powered submarine. The submarine was leased to the Indian Navy in 2011 after extensive trials and was formally commissioned on 04 April 2012. The INS Chakra joined the Eastern Naval Command at Visakhapatnam.

[table id=22 /]

Sindhughosh Class-

Sindhughosh class submarines are the Kilo-class diesel-electric submarines. They are designated 877EKM and were built under a contract between Rosvooruzhenie and the Ministry of Defence (India).

The submarines have a displacement of 3,000 tonnes, a maximum diving depth of 300 meters, top speed of 18 knots, and are able to operate solo for 45 days with a crew of 53.

[table id=23 /]

Shishumar Class-

The Shishumar class vessels (Type 1500) are diesel-electric submarines. These submarines are developed by the German yard Howaldtswerke-Deutsche Werft (HDW). The first two of these vessels were built by HDW at Kiel, while the remainder has been built at Mazagon Dock Limited (MDL) Mumbai. The ships were commissioned between 1986 and 1994. These submarines have a displacement of 1660 tons when surfaced, a speed of 22 knots (41 km/h), and a complement of 40 including eight officers. The submarines have the provision of an IKL-designed escape system.

[table id=24 /]

NOTE:- All Submarines are prefixed with letters ‘INS’ when being referred to by their Indian Navy designated Names.

The above details are taken from Indian Navy Official Website.

Related Content