Two More Women Commissioned As Women Fighter Pilots In IAF


On Saturday, the country sees a very proud moment when two more women fighter pilots commissioned in the Indian Air Force. The Air Force Academy during the Combined Graduation Parade of Pilots and Ground Duty Officers commissioned the two new women fighter pilots in the IAF.

The total number of women fighter pilots has reached up to five with the commission of two fighter pilots Shivangi and Pratibha. Shivangi hails from Varanasi while Pratibha from Rajasthan. Including two women fighter pilots, total 15 women officers will be going to join Indian Air Force, reveals the official statement.

The combined Graduation Parade of pilots and Ground duty officers sees 105 Flight Cadets passing out as Flying Officers of the Indian Air Force. On this occasion, in the wake of the humble beginnings of training of Indian trainees at the Royal Air Force College, Cranwell in October 1931, long ago the passing out of the 200th pilot course of Indian Air Force officials was also marked.

Passing out Parade

The chief guest of the parade was Admiral Sunil Lanba who is the chief of the Naval Staff. The Admiral being a reviewing officer of the parade conferred the ‘President’s Commission’ to the graduating Flight Cadets who completed their basic and professional training successfully.

First women fighter pilot

Also, Air Marshal SRK Nair, Air Officer Commanding-in-chief Training Command of Indian Air Force were present at the occasion of the combined parade. 14 officers of Indian Navy and Coast Guard were awarded ‘Flying Brevets’ during the combined parade of Graduation Parade of Pilots and Ground Duty Officers.

Moreover, Indian Air Force trains members of other services and para-military forces in basic aviation-related courses at IAF academy in Dundigal at the regular basis.


The occasion got started with a show of skydiving by a team of Indian Air Force ‘Akash Ganga’. Later, Air Warrior Drill Team of the Indian Air Force following the skydiving show presented a spectacular synchronized movement.

The Admiral Sunil Lanba awarded President’s Plaque to Flying officer Vishnu Vishal and Flying officer Mohit Kumar for achieving the first position in merit in navigation and ground duty branches. Admiral also honored the academy’s most prestigious award, “Chief of Air Staff Sword of Honour’ and President’s Plaque for standing first Flying Officer Karan Pal Singh in full capacity in the course of the pilots.

Air Warrior Drill Team

The parade marked after the rigorous training of one year. The Dundigal academy Air Force Academy transforms the raw recruits ‘flight cadets’ during the training period which is the premier training establishment. They train recruits into an elite cadre of officers for IAF.

Related Content